Flying on the wings of wisdom and compassion….

~

~

A bird needs two wings to fly.
Like the bird, we also benefit from using two wings…
the wings of “wisdom” and “compassion.”

~

One wing can be represented by “wisdom”… the perspectives and deep insights  about the nature of  life, the universe,  people and their interactions.

~

The other wing can be represented by “compassion”…  a sense of connection, love, kindness, acceptance and the heartfelt wish for all others to be free from unhappiness or suffering.

 ~

~

Wisdom, without compassion, might be aloof or dispassionate.
Compassion, without wisdom, might be overwhelming.
Together they enhance and balance each other.
Wisdom and Compassion

~

~

And so….
may we all develop the ability
to fly on the two wings
of wisdom and compassion

~

About Pocket Perspectives

A blog about shifting perspectives...
This entry was posted in Compassion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Flying on the wings of wisdom and compassion….

    • The image of the 2 wings of the bird is from the teachings of Buddhism, but the idea is included in many traditions… I think the bird is a lovely mental image to keep in mind when balancing the 2 aspects.

      Like

  1. sufilight says:

    Kathy, Beautiful! I will now be reminded everytime I see a bird fly of one wing having wisdom and the other having compassion for perfect balance.

    Like

  2. granbee says:

    I had not previously thought of balancing wisdom and compassion like the two wings of a bird. Thank you for this image; it truly helps to implant this concept in the mind’s eye.

    Like

  3. Team Oyeniyi says:

    I like the concept very much!

    Kathy, I am not even going to try to catch up from the holiday madness. I’ve dropped back on my publishing to concentrate on my book, so hopefully that allows more time for READING!!!!

    Like

  4. zendictive says:

    and the tail feathers are knowledge? (grin) just playing with this … love it!

    Like

  5. leah77 says:

    Happy New Year Kathy! Wisdom and compassion, a perfect pair of winged messengers sent to balance the world. Lovely!
    I hope you’re doing fabulously. I’m trying to get so much done these days… Hopefully get my book out very soon;)

    Like

    • Oh, Leah…you have such a wonderful way with words…that is beautifully phrased… “Wisdom and compassion, a perfect pair of winged messengers sent to balance the world.” ….that is absolutely beautiful!
      And oh yes….busy… how special that your book comes out soon!…wow! : )

      Like

  6. Cat Forsley says:

    two wings >>> lovely – thx for the inspiration .
    Cxx

    Like

  7. I think you have the seed of a story here. Wonderful image! Thank you.

    Like

  8. nrhatch says:

    A bird needs two wings to fly.

    Those who fail to see the value of compassion . . . are probably lacking in wisdom as well. 😉

    Like

  9. eof737 says:

    Food for thought and tools we could use. TY! 🙂

    Like

  10. Jackie Paulson says:

    I love the story about Eagles…and how they will just stay put on a mountain…then when the wind catches speed they just lift their wings and the wind carries them, effortlessly. I love your blog and your photo…please add me if you wish. ~Jackie

    Like

    • HI Jackie, welcome…it’s so nice that you found us here… I love imagining being a bird and flying…such an amazing sense…and catching those upward drafts…kind of like being around positive people, I think…and then to fly on the wings of wisdom and compassion…ahh..special….

      Like

  11. Connie Wayne says:

    There is such beauty, insight, and wisdom in the simplicity of your words. Blessings, Connie

    Like

  12. Pingback: Finding My Wings « a hectic life

  13. Pingback: Flying Solo « Muse In The Valley

  14. Pingback: Flying on the wings of wisdom and compassion….just like myself…. | Pocket Perspectives

  15. Pingback: “Far away, there in the sunshine are my highest aspirations….” | Pocket Perspectives

  16. Pingback: “Far away, there in the sunshine are my highest aspirations…. I can believe in them….” Nurturing Thursday | Pocket Perspectives

I'd love to "hear" your ideas about this....

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.